Posted by: gaylejervis | February 2, 2010

An Oxymoron: MSG In Organic Broth!

Yesterday when I saw the doctor, he had me go through all of the food that I eat during the day to determine if there are any triggers causing some of my symptoms.  In that conversation, I mentioned I make a lot of home made soups.  He asked me what I use for broth.  I said I occasionally make my own broth but often I use purchased organic broths.  He immediately told me he hasn’t found one that doesn’t have MSG in it.

When I went home, I looked more closely at the ingredients and discovered that the Western Family Organic Vegetable Broth contains yeast extract that  is another name for MSG.    I e-mailed them and received the following letter:

Thank you for your email regarding MSG or yeast extract in our Western

Family Organic Vegetable Broth.  I have forwarded your comments and

suggestion to our Product Management department for their reference and

review.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to email.  Feedback from

valued customers such as you helps us to improve our operations.

Sincerely,

Wendy H, Customer Service

I will be interested to see if I receive any further feedback from the Product Management Department.

However, the one I was mostly concerned about was the Organic Chicken Broth that I buy from Costco .  The only ingredient that seemed to be a concern was  “organic chicken flavor”.  Can you really have an organic MSG?  Anyways, today I received their response and I am greatly encouraged:

Dear Gayle,

Thank you for taking the time to email Pacific Natural Foods.  We are delighted to hear how much you

enjoy our Organic Chicken Broth.  The Natural Flavors we use consist of natural plant extracts

and are free of MSG, free glutamates and all of the big 8 allergens, as well as nightshades and celery.

These ingredients are of utmost quality and have been rigorously scrutinized by our Certified To The Source

Program.

Pacific Natural Foods’ Certified To The Source is a program in which we identify the exact origins of the

ingredients for our products.  This ensures that you are receiving a food or beverage that is of highest quality

and nutritional value.  Nothing in our products is included without certification.  All of our ingredients meet the

requirements put forth by Oregon Tilth.

We appreciate your continued support of our products.  If you have any other questions please feel free to

contact us again.

Sincerely,

Cyndee Olsen

Consumer Services Coordinator

Pacific Foods of Oregon

Ph. (503) 692-9666

Unfortunately, I didn’t check my e-mails before I left to see my Doctor.  (Yes, again today)   I would like to show him this letter.  He is always very suspicious by company’s responses, but I feel fairly confident in this company’s response.  Or I am in serious denial since I like the convenience of opening up a tetra-pak of broth rather than first making the broth before I can even start making soup!

If you are concerned about eating foods with MSG, I have included a list of words that indicate its presence:

Glutamate

Monosodium glutamate

Monopotassium glutamate

yeast extract

Hydrolyzed protein

Glutamic Acid

Calcium Caseinate

Sodium Caseinate

Yeast Food

Hydrolyzed corn gluten

Gelatin

Textured Protecin

Yeast Nutrient

Autolyzed yeast

Natrium glutamate

The following ingredient often contain MSG or create MSG during processing:

Carrageenan

Natural Pork Flavoring

Bouillon & Broth

Stock

Whey protein Concentrate

Whey Protein

Whey Protein isolate

Flavors & Flavoring

Natural Flavors

Maltodextrin

Citric Acid

Natural Chicken Flavoring

Ultra-pasteurized

Barley malt

Pectin

Protease

Malt extract

Malt Flavoring

Soy protein isolate

Soy sauce

Soy protein

Aything protein fortified

Seasonings

Responses

  1. Wow, msg is everywhere! This is really helpful info.

  2. Makes me wonder what CAN I eat!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

